top of page

Anthem for the Flawed

Heartburn, heartbreak,

Heart beat, heart rate,

Responsible for love and responsible for

Hate

Your heart’s the origin for every symptom,

So please take a moment for my flawed anthem.

Knowing each breath might be my last,

Going by fast,

But for some reason Earth reminds me every second,

Through every move, every thought, my reflection

That my life will choke with shouts

From folks interpreting my case throughout

My own:

Baby clothes, tantrums thrown, milestones, dreams postponed,

Tombstone, name unknown

Something new appearing every day,

Watching how I eat, how I act, my x-rays

It’s always a,

Stomach pain, knees weak,

Sore throat, can’t speak,

Migraine, so much pain,

My brain, going insane,

Now blind, I’m lost,

Lost the path, they criss-crossed

Missed school, missed life,

Diagnosis deeper than knives

Lost sleep, counting sheep

Worrying, anxiety

Mixed sensations, synesthesia,

I’m a medical encyclopedia

They speak of critical procedures,

They say are “urgent” and “safe”,

Yet there’s a bleeder,

Take a breather,

Caught a fever,

At the door at the grim reaper.

Jumbled soup of ABC’s,

Explaining symptoms, syncope

Even though I’m sitting here

Working to fight back the tears,

I pray for any foreign God,

To hear my anthem for the flawed.

So please live life in the present,

And don’t think I mean the gift,

There’s people out there suffering,

And we all coexist.

Realize now I will prevail,

Rise and chant it all abroad,

Even when I’m faint and frail,

This anthem for the flawed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page