top of page

The Life I Left Unlived


I live life as a minority…but not in the way you might think.

I live in a society that misinterprets homeschoolers, calling us “sheltered” or “unsocial” when often the opposite is true. I am in a society where Facebook and Twitter are the rulers, and where conservative family morals are lost among the “entertaining” misbehavior of popular celebrities and media. I have been called “innocent” and “inexperienced” because of who I am and what I believe. Yet, I now find myself happier and more successful than I could have ever wished for, and it is because of life choices made very early on in life.

When I was several years younger, I noticed that our family was different. My playmates would often ask things such as “Hey, have you played that new Wii game?” or “Do you want to play Nintendo?” to which I would reply “No…” or “I don’t have one of those”. I couldn’t understand at the time why my parents wouldn’t let me have a game console, or see that new pg13 movie, or get a public account on the brand-new YouTube; all my friends could do that! I felt as if the world was leaving me behind, as if I would never be like other kids and would never have fun like them. I was afraid that life would pass me by because I was raised to live in what felt like a whole different world. Yet, this “different world” would soon become one I would never want to leave.

It wasn’t until years later that I started to appreciate these boundaries. While other kids I knew had been fighting over games, learning things they shouldn’t from unfiltered, age-inappropriate media, and being sucked deep into the world of the Internet and social media, I could often be found outside playing with my brothers, camping, or curled up with a book. Because I have been homeschooled all my life, I also had an abundance of time with my family to create cherished memories, even during the learning process. By staying “unplugged” and engaged, I found the beauty and joy in every moment I was blessed with on earth. I became someone who could quickly make friends, and I developed a talent for finding something fun to do without the need of the media.

Today I see so many people sitting around on their phones, browsing through the media and spending the day staring at a tiny screen. If they took the time to try a different life—striking up a conversation with someone, perhaps—then they could find out so much and maybe even make a friend. Instead of being affected by what society labels them as, people can pave their own path in life and take the time to enjoy it. I once thought life was passing me by, but the life I really needed was the one I already had. This lifestyle defines who I am, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page