top of page

Star Wars at Disney World

With the recent release of The Force Awakens, countless former skeptics have awakened to find the true brilliance of the best franchise in the galaxy: Star Wars. Super fans new (like my public school classmates) and old (like me and my family) have the opportunity to visit Disney World and experience the power of the Force more than ever. Visiting Disney World’s Hollywood Studios should be any Star Wars fan’s number one mission.

First off, I’m going to tell you about the shows and activities featured at Disney World. The Star Wars Spectacular: Symphony in the Stars is a fireworks show that is accompanied by John Williams’ original score. Although the show is extremely loud, it is certainly a sight to behold. It’s the best fireworks show I’ve ever seen, and that includes 4th of July fireworks in DC. We were amazed that my little brother slept through the whole thing. You can also participate in Jedi Training: Trials of the Temple. Children can become padawans and fight various villains such as Darth Maul, Darth Vader, Kylo Ren, and the Seventh Sister. I was put in a Jedi robe and given a green lightsaber to fight Darth Vader, the greatest Sith apprentice of all time. My only complaint was that we were out in the sun and it was quite hot.

Hopefully, in the future, they’ll build a pavilion with some shade. Despite that, it was my favorite handson activity. Finally, you can watch Path of the Jedi—a ten-minute movie summarizing Luke’s journey to becoming a Jedi Master. We decided not to see it because we’ve seen all the movies and there was so much else to see and do.

Next I’m going to tell you all about Star Tours, the best ride in Hollywood Studios. Ever since December 15, 1989 guests of Disney World have been able to not only ride a Star Speeder 1000, but can see many Star Wars props. As you approach the ride, you enter an Ewok Village on Endor with a towering AT-AT and a rebel speeder that you can ride. After entering, you pass by characters such as C3PO, R4P17, R3S6, and two Mon Calamari. Next, you go through customs and baggage where you are handed 3D glasses. Finally, you are seated and are accidentally taken on an adventure by a clueless C3PO. While the adventures vary, you may witness a starship battle above Coruscant, encounter Imperial forces on the Death Star such as Darth Vader or Boba Fett, chase the Millennium Falcon through a fallen Star Destroyer on Jakku, or race against the giant fish under the water on Naboo. Flying through a Star Destroyer made me want to become a rebel pilot and fight with the Resistance. I was able to go on it three times and it was, by far, my favorite ride in all the parks.

After visiting Star Tours, your next stop should be the Launch Bay Theatre. As you approach, try to get a picture with one of the two roaming Stormtroopers. They aren’t easy to catch since “they’re on patrol”. In fact, they told me to “stand over there”, seemingly for a picture, only to walk away when I wasn’t looking. We chased them around for several minutes before finally giving up and going inside. Upon entering the theatre, first visit the Dark Side where you can encounter Kylo Ren on the bridge of his ship. He’s not very talkative, but don’t say that in front of him—he has a very short temper. Even though he was silent with me, I still felt intimidated in his presence. While you wait in line you can study lightsabers belonging to bad guys such as Chancellor Palpatine, Count Dooku, Asajj Ventress, Darth Maul, and Darth Vader. You can also see Dark Side helmets such as Imperial and First Order Stormtroopers and Tie Fighter pilots. Next, make sure you visit the Light Side where you can meet Chewbacca on a hidden rebel base.

The first thing I did when I saw him was give him a hug. He was much friendlier than Kylo Ren. While waiting to meet him, you can see lightsabers from heroes such as Yoda, Mace Windu, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Luke Skywalker, and Anakin Skywalker. You can also see Clone Trooper and rebel pilot helmets. Then be sure to visit the Mos Eisley Cantina where two mischievous Jawas scurry around, pick-pocket the tourists, and make it difficult to take a picture with them. Be careful, they startle easily. I was unable to get a picture with them since they kept running away, but it was fun to watch them. If you have the time, you can view a short movie called, “Meet the Makers” or play in the Game Center. As you exit, you can purchase exclusive high-end Star Wars memorabilia. Even if you can’t afford anything (it’s very pricey!), it’s fun to look. I really wanted a life-size Han Solo in carbonite for my bedroom, but my mom wouldn’t let me.

For some reasonably priced souvenirs, make sure you visit Tattooine Traders. There you can find exclusive souvenirs, including a Build-Your-Own lightsaber or droid. I built a lightsaber with Kylo Ren’s flames and a blue blade. I wanted to make my flames blue, but they only had the red that Kylo has. While carrying my lightsaber around for the rest of the day, I was able to challenge several other people to a duel. You can also purchase “Mickey ears” for characters such as R2D2, BB8, and Darth Vader. Other souvenirs include shirts, key chains, magnets, Lego sets, and Disney character plushes dressed up as our favorite Star Wars characters (such as Jedi Mickey and Darth Goofy.)

When you’re hungry make your way to Backlot Express or Min and Bill’s Dockside Diner where you can experience Galactic Cuisine. Join the Dark Side with a Royal Guard burger or the Dark Side Chicken and Waffles (with a Darth Vader shaped waffle). Or choose the Light Side with a lunch combo that comes in a collectible Han Solo in carbonite box or a souvenir BB8 cup. My Han Solo had a place of honor in between me and my brother the whole way home from Florida. For your sweet tooth you can indulge in a chocolate peanut butter Darth Vader cupcake, a German chocolate Chewbacca cupcake, or a lemon BB8 cupcake with buttercream frosting and chocolate rocks. We had a Darth Vader cupcake and it was delicious. The only problem was it was so hot outside that it melted quickly and I got chocolate all over my face. It was still worth it.

With so many opportunities to become a part of the Star Wars galaxy, every true fan should make their way to Florida and Disney World as soon as possible. Make sure to bring sunscreen and oh… May the Force Be With You!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page