top of page

Summer Reads: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein Duology


Victor Frankenstein – is a classic character who appears in Mary Shelley’s Gothic novel, Frankenstein. However, where Mary Shelley begins her story, Victor is already an adult, with twenty-five years of his life already passed. Thus, my favourite author, Kenneth Oppel, decided to gift us with the greatest gift of all: the prequel to Frankenstein. Or, shall I say, prequels, because it is a duology. Here I review my two favourite books: This Dark Endeavor and Such Wicked Intent. Spoiler alerts: If you are planning on actually reading this series, do not read my review of Such Wicked Intent until you are finished reading the first novel. Without further ado, I present my reviews:

This Dark Endeavor – Kenneth Oppel

“Konrad had gone to the New World without me, and no matter how fast I ran westward, how close I kept to the sunsets, I would never catch up with him now.” – Victor Frankenstein.

Such is the heartbreaking end to This Dark Endeavor, but before I speak of that, I would like to set the foundation for what reading this book was like. It was a rollercoaster of events; taking me up, down, and around the loops. I was turning the pages with a feverish desire to know what would happen next. The excitement presented in this book does not disappoint. Let’s introduce the characters: there is Victor, who is narrating the story and who is always in his twin brother’s shadow. He is a passionate character who tries his best to emulate his brother’s example. There is Konrad, Victor’s twin brother, loved by all. He is gentle, kind, and an example for his brother. Then, there is Elizabeth Lavenza, fair Elizabeth, who keeps Victor and Konrad constantly busy. She is the cousin of Konrad and Victor, and was taken in by the Frankenstein’s when her mother died. To be honest, along with Konrad, she was probably my favourite character. And last is Henry Clerval, the poet, who has a gift with words, and Victor and Konrad’s closest friend.

At the beginning of the book, Konrad, Victor, Elizabeth, and Henry are exploring, when they stumble along the Dark Library, containing books full of alchemy. Alphonse Frankenstein, Konrad and Victor’s father, forbids the four from ever going into that library again. But of course, Victor, always the headstrong one, cannot resist, and when Konrad is seized with an illness, after Victor has hurt him several times, Victor resolves to make it up for his twin by saving him. How does he endeavor to save Konrad? Well, he teams up with Polidori, an alchemist, to try and help Konrad become better. Does it work? Well, if you would like to find out, I suggest reading This Dark Endeavor.

This Dark Endeavor is a book with a twisted plot, where Victor, jealous of his brother, who has Elizabeth’s love, sets out to save Konrad from his illness, while hoping to win Elizabeth. Sigh… I usually don’t like it when there are romances tangled into the plot of a book; I’m more of an action/adventure person, but this one is a classic.

Such Wicked Intent – Kenneth Oppel

Spoiler alert: Stop reading if you haven’t read This Dark Endeavor yet.

“I believe there is something on this earth that you desire more than anything, and it isn't me.” – Elizabeth Lavenza

After the heartbreaking and saddening end to This Dark Endeavor, a grieving Victor and a distraught Elizabeth, who deeply miss Konrad, are inconsolable. At the end of This Dark Endeavor, Victor makes a promise to his brother to try and bring him back to life, doing what it takes, including alchemy. Although his father ordered the Dark Library burned, Victor finds a book that is unburned and uses it to bring life back to Konrad’s body. He also figures out how to make it into the world of the dead, and although he and Elizabeth are able to see their beloved Konrad again, there is something out there much darker that they have not figured out. What is it? Again, I would suggest reading Such Wicked Intent to find out, because I think I have already provided enough spoilers for today.

This book had me turning the pages in a fervor, waiting to find out what would happen next. Then, I was on the verge of tears, waiting to see if Victor and Elizabeth could bring Konrad back. Or if they would ever see him again. This eagerness to find out what is next and the suspense presented in the book is exactly why these books are my favourite books.

The story doesn’t end here though! I encourage anyone who enjoyed these books to go right ahead and get their hands on Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and see how Victor’s story ends. Just for the record, the ending of all three books had me brokenhearted, but then again, I have to remember that this is Gothic literature.

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page