top of page

This or That: Getting to Know Mrs. Houlihan


[Author’s note: I began the This or That series for us students to get to know our teachers better. For this series, I am interviewing a few of my favourite teachers and getting them to answer questions they otherwise wouldn’t be answering. P.S. Kudos to Mrs. Houlihan for being one of the best, if not the best, math teachers I’ve had so far. Also, she is the only one who has faced the daunting task of getting me to actually enjoy math, and she succeeded! She is awesome!]

Hi FatimaJ This was so much fun! Thank you so much for asking meJ

  1. Pink or Blue? I definitely like most shades of pink – especially the darker ones.

  2. Vanilla or chocolate? Chocolate for sure! I love everything chocolateJ

  3. McDonalds or fruit? I love pretty much every fruit so I have to pick the fruit for this one. My favorite fruits are Granny Smith apples, raspberries and blackberries.

  4. Movies or books? I am a big movie fan especially action and scary/horror movies. One of my all-time favorites is the original Jurassic Park movie. I can also say that I have probably seen every scary/horror movie at least once.

  5. Coffee or tea? I do not really like hot drinks very much but if I had to choose one it would be black coffee. My preference over these two would be hot chocolate with lots of marshmallowsJ

  6. Jeans or dress? This is a tough one but I am probably more a jeans person than a dress person. I love to get dressed up once in a while but there is nothing like relaxing in jeans and a t-shirt.

  7. Heels or flats? Heels are definitely my pick.

  8. Waffles or pancakes? I love hot, fluffy, Belgian waffles with fresh strawberries and whipped cream and hot maple syrup. There is no better way to start your day!

  9. Head first or feet first? I will always go feet first.

  10. Truth or dare? I love a challenge so I will most likely take the dare.

  11. Salt or pepper? Salt, salt and more salt. I usually cannot get enough.

  12. Emotional pain or physical pain? I have a high tolerance for physical pain so I would definitely pick that one. Additionally, in my experience physical pain will usually go away with some rest and time but emotional pain tends to stick with you your whole life.

  13. Forests or fields? I pick forests because I love seeing the different kinds of trees and their leaves. You also never know what you might find behind the next tree in a forest and I like that element of surprise. In a field, you can usually see everything and there is very few surprises.

  14. Lunar eclipse or solar eclipse? These are both pretty unique and I love to check them out when they occur so I pick both.

  15. Test the water or dive in? I am definitely testing the water. It needs to be pretty warm and clean for me to even consider diving in.

  16. Cursive or print? I have always found printing to be too slow. I love cursive because it is so much faster for getting ideas down on paper. It can look so pretty too.

  17. Summer or winter? I love warm sunny days so summer is my favorite. I grew up in New York State where the winters were cold and snowy. We spent most of our time inside waiting for the weather to get warmer. My best memories are of summer vacation and all the fun things we could do outside during the summer. I loved to ride my bike and play tennis with friends. Now I live in Florida where it feels like summer at least 6 months of the year and spring the rest of the time.

  18. Hot or cold? Hot! When I first moved to Florida, everyone said that I would not enjoy the summer because it was so hot. I have actually really enjoyed the hot summers and there are so many ways to get cool in the summer. There are lots of waterparks and everything is air-conditioned so I will never complain about the heat. Growing up in NY, we had some hot, humid summers and there was very little air conditioning and you just had to grin and bear the heat.

  19. Dog or cat? I love cats because they are so independent and easy to care for. I have been fortunate to have cats that have also been very loving but it is definitely on their terms.

  20. Outside or inside? I love to be outside and enjoy every beautiful day. I always feel so fortunate when I am able to get outside and feel like I should never waste the opportunity.

  21. City or country? I am a country girl. I like the simple things in life.

  22. Left or right? Right for sureJ

  23. Morning or night? I am a night owl. I have never been much of a morning person but if I have an important project then I definitely like to get it done in the morning because I think I do my best work at that time.

  24. Lover or hater? I am lover – there is too much hate in this world. I think if we treated others the way we would want to be treated then we could change the world and make a big difference.

  25. Coke or Pepsi? There is nothing like Diet Pepsi.

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page