top of page

Top Fifteen Throwback Movies


Do you love going back and watching movies that haven’t been watched in a while? I think we can all agree that newer, more popular movies such as Frozen (2013) and Inside Out (2014) are talked about and watched too much; it can get tiring to hear about the same movies over and over again. A few weeks ago, my friends and I were having a movie night, and we were frantically searching for a movie that none of us had watched yet. My friend wanted a newer movie, but I disagreed. In the end, for lack of movies, we ended up watching Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992). It was then I decided to dig into the books and put together this list of top-15 throwback movies that are appropriate for children, which my parents would let me watch, and which people of all ages can enjoy on a dark, cold winter night, with popcorn and hot chocolate. Please note: These are all movies I have not yet watched, or I have watched so long ago, I have forgotten the story. For me, my personal favourite movies are throwbacks as well: Mary Poppins (1964) and Fly Away Home (1996), feel free to check these out.

  1. The Lion King (1994)

  2. A Little Princess (1995)

  3. Spy Kids (2001)

  4. The Secret Garden (1993)

  5. The Wizard of Oz (1939)

  6. Stuart Little (1999)

  7. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

  8. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)

  9. Space Jam (1996)

  10. Popeye (1980)

  11. The Flight of the Navigator (1986)

  12. Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey (1993)

  13. The Witches (1990)

  14. Quest for Camelot (1998)

  15. Balto (1995)

I made this list after thorough research and looking up reviews on Common Sense Media, and it was hard to find 15 family-appropriate movies that my parents would allow me to watch, but, finally, these are the ones I decided on. So, next time you watch a movie at home, opt for a throwback, and make sure to enjoy these with your family or friends, while eating popcorn and drinking hot cocoa.

[Author’s note: The top 5 movies in this list are in order, but once it gets to six, the movies are in no particular order.]

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page