top of page

Captain Cavechick's Impossible Puzzles: Super-Secret Easter Forest Playground Party!


Are you eggcited yet? Ha!

That pun is so bad, even I didn’t laugh at it. Or, maybe I didn’t laugh because the weather is hot, the room I’m typing in is crowded, and I have a spring cold. Oh, and one of the iGlobe Editors just called me. She wants her puzzle. Well, maybe if she’d whip up some talent like she whips out her cell phone to remind sick people of deadlines she could make her own darn puzzle! What? Am I just here to amuse?

I need a moment. I know self-pity isn’t cute. But it’s my pity party and I can cry if I want to!

*HICCUP!* ….*SOB*…..Apparently this Captain is only Captain of the Good Ship Puzzle when the puzzles aren’t writing themselves.

Anyway, about my cold. I thought these bad boys only came in winter. Maybe it’s the lack of Vitamin C in my diet. Not my fault. Deserts don’t grow fruit! They don’t even grow desserts!

That’s why my friends we are going to pretend to be in a forest. A beautiful lush forest…and hey, why not pretend that it’s Easter while we are at it? AND! To make it interesting, how about we put some magic letters on Easter Eggs and hide them in our magical fairy garden. We’ll call it The Secret Garden!

Wait…do I have to cite it in MLA format if I call it The Secret Garden? Forget it then. Let’s name it…’My Easter Forest Playground Party….of DOOM!’

Has to be of doom, or you guys won’t play! After all, it’s not an adventure unless you’re scared! All right. Let’s get in the Easter zone…it’s like the Twilight zone without the sparkly vampires.

Ah, Easter…I actually happen to like Easter. There’s something just so…Eastery about going into the forest and fighting other kids for brightly-colored almost chickens. But mostly the forest bit. I like the forest ALMOST as much as I like my cave. Hey, what about a cave in the forest? Ooh!! How about a bear in a cave in a forest?

Okay, now that this puzzle has virtually written itself, why don’t we put a timer on this puzzle this month and pretend The Bear is the timer! Let’s say we put six minutes on our bear-board. You might notice that my hidden Easter Eggs come in an assortment of colors, and they have letters on them. We could then sort the eggs by color, and you will find that the letters can be unscrambled to decode a super-secret message. Voila! Self-written puzzle hits the page! Poom!

So to recap and without further ado, here are the rules:

  1. You have to beat the bear by (a.k.a. the clock) by finding all the Easter Eggs, and then

  2. unscramble the word puzzle, and then

  3. comment with the answer below this article before time runs out.

What’s that you say? You want a hint about what the message will be? Er…no! Not this time. You’ll just have to beat the bear to find out! And while you are at it, can you bear with me too? After all, bears in Spring are ravaging, like a cold to the sinuses, and they’ll eat all your eggs…and this is where we learn analogies can only take a Captain so far.

So, HURRY!!! GO….vamos!

Love, Bears, and Happy Easter,

Your Captain Cavechick J

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page