top of page

Mini Photography Portfolio: From Ordinary to Extraordinary

For today’s photography project, I decided to take several household objects, and try to turn them into great photographs. In other words, I took ordinary objects and turned them into extraordinary photographs. I will share these photos with you, as well as explain how to take them. It’s mostly about the angles.

I decided to stay confined to my room when taking the photos, and although I don’t have the world’s most interesting room, I was able to take some great photos (well, I thought they were). Let’s begin!

For this first photo, I have a hockey net in my room, and an autographed Capitals jersey hanging on my wall. To take this photo, I leaned into the net, putting my camera right on it, then snapped a photo. I had to try several times to get the photo I wanted, but even in this one, my closet door was opened, casting a shadow on the left side of the photo. So, this isn’t exactly my best photo.

For my second photo, I have some hockey posters hanging on my wall. I tilted the camera at a sharp angle and proceeded to snap a photograph of the pictures on the wall. I wanted to get the camera to focus, so I could get the effect of blurring everything but the puck on the ice in the closest photo, but it didn't work out exactly as I wanted, even though I took several pictures, so I just had to settle with this one.

For this photograph, I have some sports trophies, ribbons, and medals hanging in my room on a shelf from all the sports teams I have played on as a child. I decided to get up-close to my biggest swimming ribbons and take a photo, blurring out the ribbons behind them, and I achieved almost exactly the effect I wanted.

For this photograph, I (again) took advantage of the hockey posters hanging on my wall. This time, I included my hockey sticks in the background to give the photo more of a hockey theme/feel. It turned out almost exactly as I wanted it; however, the words weren’t as clear as I wanted them to be. They actually say, “Some heroes use skates to fly,” but I wasn’t able to get that in the photo, although it would’ve fit in perfectly with the theme.

For this photograph, I put my camera all the way on the ground and snapped a photo of the blades of my hockey sticks, making sure to capture my skates in the background, giving this photo a hockey feel. Definitely not one of my favourites (it would’ve been better if I had been able to get this shot on ice), but good enough.

In my room, on top of my closet, I have a lot of motivational sayings on the wall, and I decided they would make a nice photograph, so I reached up as far as I could and clicked the photograph button, hoping I would be able to get a good photograph. Unfortunately, if I had been taller I could’ve gotten a straighter photo, but I had to make do with this one. It would’ve been nicer, though, if I had been able to make it straight.

On my dresser, I have several souvenir keepsake hockey pucks from playoff hockey games, as well as outdoor hockey games, and I decided to get up-close with two of these and take pictures of them, as well as a souvenir I have from Chicago and a figurine of Maurice Richard Canadiens in the background. I like this one because it blurred out the background just the way I wanted it to and focused on the puck in the front.

This is a photograph of a globe I have in my room, on my awards shelf (it’s an academic award). I wanted to take the picture from underneath, to really capture the base, but my photo frame and half of my soccer trophy got in the way, so I couldn’t really get the picture the way I wanted. However, the lighting worked in my favour, and so I was able to get the base at the bottom of the photo with the light casting a cool shadow on the globe.

For my final photograph, I decided to stick with my hockey net again, and I got this picture by focusing the camera on the bend in the net. This photo is probably my favourite, because for once I was able to get exactly the effect I wanted on it, which was blurring everything except for the pole I focused on.

Okay, that’s it for my photographs! Now, all of you, go take your own, turn some ordinary household objects into extraordinary photos and let me know how it goes! Until next time!

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page