top of page

Going the Extra Mile

Going the Extra Mile

Have you ever set a goal and given up.

25% of people give up if they don’t make progress in three weeks. Now think of this, compare three weeks to seven years….that’s how long it took me to earn my black belt. I started when I was four and now I’m 11. I struggled through seven years of form, seven years of push-ups, and seven years of self-defense. But it was all worth it. Now you might be thinking seven years is a long time to earn a belt. Why did it take so long? Mainly because we travel a lot. But time after time again I came back and earned my next rank on Thursday February 4th.

I walked in to take the test as it was about to begin. I got in my place, got ready to preform and I did my material. I did great. Then it came to board breaking where you had two wood boards: I got in my stance, did my back elbow and the board broke…then I went to do a jump front kick and again the board broke. After seven years, I have done it. I became…… a black belt.

NOW THAT’S GOING THE EXTRA MILE

Author -Donevon Ferrell

Photographer-Yvonne Ferrell

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page