top of page

BREAK A LEG

When you think about music, you may think about different types of music. Some types of music are Country, Folk, and Metal. Maybe you like one of those types, but my favorite is Rock. In the early 1990’s, in the State of Washington, Seattle to be exact, there was a new generation of Rock music called Grunge. A couple of bands that put Grunge on the map were Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, and Alice in Chains. Nirvana made a huge impact in Grunge music thanks to some of their band members including lead Singer, Curt Cobain, Bassist, Krist Novoselic, and finally my favorite drummer, Dave Grohl. Why is Dave Grohl my favorite? Even though I am only 10 years old, I think he is the best drummer ever. What is really funny is that he doesn’t even play the drums much anymore. After Nirvana was finished, Dave made a band called the Foo Fighters. You might think the name is silly, even Dave thought so. The definition of a Foo Fighter is a UFO that was reported by Allied Aircraft Pilots in WWII (Wikipedia). The first Foo Fighters album was released in 1995 and had Dave Grohl doing all of the instruments and singing. Nineteen years and seven albums later, the Foo Fighters grew more and more popular. In 2014, the album entitled “Sonic Highways” was created. There are eight songs on this album. The band went to different cities performing this album including Chicago, Washington D.C., Nashville, Austin, Los Angeles, New Orleans, Seattle, and New York City. Dave interviewed famous musicians in each of these cities and created songs from those interviews. He put the actual words from the interviews in each city into each of his songs. After the album was created, the Foo Fighters went on the “Sonic Highways” tour. While in Sweden, Dave was performing and fell off the stage and broke his leg very badly. While he was recovering, he decided to change the name of the tour to the “Break a Leg Tour.” While Dave was in the hospital, he designed a big throne for him to sit on while he finished the tour. The band logo was displayed on the front of the throne with laser lights shooting out everywhere. I have attached a photo of the drawing below that Dave created.

Google Images Here is what the actual throne looks like.

Google Images On August 19, 2015, there was a Foo Fighters show in St. Louis, MO. I was able to attend my very FIRST show! I just knew I had to see them live. I got to the show and I asked one of the Security Guards if there was any possible way to get a Set List. A Set List is a piece of paper that each member of the band has to keep track of songs that will be played. The Security Guard told me, “I will try but can’t promise anything.” I told him okay and thank you. Right before the Foo Fighters came out to perform, the Security Guard waved me over to him. I walked over to him and he handed me a Set List as well as a drumstick from Taylor Hawkins, the drummer from the band. I was so excited, but had no idea what was going to happen next. About five songs into the show, I was thinking I was the luckiest kid in the world. All of a sudden, a different Security Guard came up to me and said, “I heard you got a drumstick and a set list!” I said, “Yes, they are pretty cool!” He said, “They are really cool, how would you like to sit up on the stage with the band?” I felt like I was dreaming at this point, speechless. I said, “OH MY GOODNESS, ABSOLUTLEY!” Once I got up on the stage, they let me sit on the Foo Fighters’ cooler about 12 feet from Dave Grohl! The whole time, I was pinching myself to make sure that I wasn’t dreaming! Dave’s Guitar Technician gave me Dave’s wristband, guitar picks, and I even got to hold one of his guitars! After the show, I got to sit in the throne! Here is a picture of me.

It has been over three months since I have been to the concert and I still can’t stop thinking about it and can’t believe that it happened. I will remember this for the rest of my life. What an awesome experience thanks to the Foo Fighters. All I can say is Dave Grohl and the Foo Fighters are Awesome! Sources: Wikipedia: Foo Fighters Google Images

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page