top of page

This is War by Emily Kinney


Have you ever heard of Emily Kinney? Well, she released a new album entitled “This Is War” on October 2nd, but let me tell you a little bit about her background first. Emily Kinney is an actress from Nebraska known for her acting on the popular TV series “The Walking Dead.” She started acting when she was 23 and did some plays and musicals but her first passion was music. In the year 2011 she released her first album “Blue Toothbrush” and that's also when she started working on “The Walking Dead.” Later she released “Expired Love” in 2013, her “Rock Star“ in 2014 and now “This Is War” in 2015.

So let's get back to the album. The albums genre is indie pop and its also got a lot of percussion instruments such as bass. The album has ten songs: This is war, Birthday cake, Mess, Berkeley's breathing, Michael, Never leave LA, Crash and Burn, Molly, Last chance and weapons. These songs all have a soft feel but you are also able to rock out with all of them. When I heard the album, I felt like I was walking home from art class while eating a doughnut but also like I was in a concert and I could just rock out. “This Is War,” the third album (or fourth if you count the single, “rock star”) is very different from the ones that came before. “Blue toothbrush” made me feel like it was breezy outside so I had to stay home; that whole album is about being alone and learning to love yourself. With “Expired Love,” I felt like I was in the park on the swings because it’s kind of slow and soft. Now you know how all the albums are different. “This Is War” is a little fast and the songs tell different stories: two song writers have a fight (this is war), her boyfriend cheats on her (Molly), how much she loves LA (never leave LA). I think this might be her best album because all the songs are so different from the rest in the album and from the ones before. I think all of her music is different from the ones that artists now play. This album tells lots of stories that I think are amazing because the lyrics explain them beautifully. So if you ever need some music to listen to that's different, quick, soft, full of stories. This Is War by Emily Kinney is the place to go.

K12 International Academy

Online School Newspaper

Volume 8

Issue 8

The iGlobe

bottom of page